Nobel Prize Medicine & Physiology.Pontus Lundahl.TT

The first of this year’s Nobel Prizes have been announced in medicine or physiology; the honorees are two Americans, Drs. William G. Kaelin Jr. of Harvard University and Gregg L. Semenza of Johns Hopkins University, and a Briton, Peter J. Ratcliffe of the Francis Crick Institute and Oxford University. They discovered how the body’s cells sense and react to oxygen levels, opening new research paths to fight cancer, anemia and other diseases. The three scientists will receive 3 million kronor apiece, or about $300,000. (Pontus Lundahl/TT)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.