Morning Prayer 5.2.16, St. Philip & St. James, Apostles

Holy Day Webcasts

Available for replay now.

Our 7 a.m. webcast is concluded; to watch and listen, click here.

Alison and Gwen were our cantors at 9 a.m.; go here.

Blessed are you, Lord, the God of Israel; *
you have come to your people and set them free.

The Community of the Transfiguration, a convent in Glendale, Ohio near Cincinnati, has given 368 acres of wilderness in Bat Cave, North Carolina to a local Mountain Land Conservancy to protect water quality and wildlife habitat in the Upper Broad River. The Sisters acquired the land in 1908 as a retreat for local farmers who were “land rich but cash poor,” and will retain 40 acres to build a retreat center. Bat Cave is the home of several species of bats as well as a type of green salamander; the gift is valued at $1.7 million. Above: the Grassy Creek Cascades, part of the Upper Broad watershed. (Gordon Tutor)

The Community of the Transfiguration, a convent in Glendale, Ohio near Cincinnati, has given 368 acres of wilderness in Bat Cave, North Carolina to a local Mountain Land Conservancy to protect water quality and wildlife habitat in the Upper Broad River. The Sisters acquired the land in 1908 as a retreat for local farmers who were “land rich but cash poor,” and will retain 40 acres to build a retreat center. Bat Cave is the home of several species of bats as well as a type of green salamander; the gift is valued at $1.7 million. Above: the Grassy Creek Cascades, part of the Upper Broad watershed. (Gordon Tutor)

Alleluia! Christ is risen.
The Lord is risen indeed. Alleluia!

INVITATORY AND PSALTER

Lord, open our lips.
And our mouth shall proclaim your praise.

Glory to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit:
as it was in the beginning, is now, and will be for ever. Amen. Alleluia.

Christ Our Passover
1 Cor. 5:7-8; Rom. 6:9-11; 1 Cor. 15:20-22

Alleluia.
Christ our Passover has been sacrificed for us; *
therefore let us keep the feast,
Not with the old leaven, the leaven of malice and evil, *
but with the unleavened bread of sincerity and truth. Alleluia.

Christ being raised from the dead will never die again; *
death no longer has dominion over him.
The death that he died, he died to sin, once for all; *
but the life he lives, he lives to God.
So also consider yourselves dead to sin, *
and alive to God in Jesus Christ our Lord. Alleluia.

Christ has been raised from the dead, *
the first fruits of those who have fallen asleep.
For since by a man came death, *
by a man has come also the resurrection of the dead.
For as in Adam all die, *
so also in Christ shall all be made alive. Alleluia.

Psalm 119:137-160 (PCP)

137  You are righteous, O LORD, *
and upright are your judgments.
138  You have issued your decrees *
with justice and in perfect faithfulness.
139  My indignation has consumed me, *
because my enemies forget your words.
140  Your word has been tested to the uttermost, *
and your servant holds it dear.
141  I am small and of little account, *
yet I do not forget your commandments.
142  Your justice is an everlasting justice *
and your law is the truth.
143  Trouble and distress have come upon me, *
yet your commandments are my delight.
144  The righteousness of your decrees is everlasting; *
grant me understanding, that I may live.

145  I call with my whole heart; *
answer me, O LORD, that I may keep your statutes.
146  I call to you;
oh, that you would save me! *
I will keep your decrees.
147  Early in the morning I cry out to you, *
for in your word is my trust.
148  My eyes are open in the night watches, *
that I may meditate upon your promise.
149  Hear my voice, O LORD, according to your loving-kindness; *
according to your judgments, give me life.
150  They draw near who in malice persecute me; *
they are very far from your law.
151  You, O LORD, are near at hand, *
and all your commandments are true.
152  Long have I known from your decrees *
that you have established them for ever.

153  Behold my affliction and deliver me, *
for I do not forget your law.
154  Plead my cause and redeem me; *
according to your promise, give me life.
155  Deliverance is far from the wicked, *
for they do not study your statutes.
156  Great is your compassion, O LORD; *
preserve my life, according to your judgments.
157  There are many who persecute and oppress me, *
yet I have not swerved from your decrees.
158  I look with loathing at the faithless, *
for they have not kept your word.
159  See how I love your commandments! *
O LORD, in your mercy, preserve me.
160  The heart of your word is truth; *
all your righteous judgments endure for evermore.

Glory to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit: *
as it was in the beginning, is now, and will be for ever. Amen.

THE LESSONS
Job 23:1-12 (NRSV)

Then Job answered:
“Today also my complaint is bitter;
his hand is heavy despite my groaning.
Oh, that I knew where I might find him,
that I might come even to his dwelling!
I would lay my case before him,
and fill my mouth with arguments.
I would learn what he would answer me,
and understand what he would say to me.
Would he contend with me in the greatness of his power?
No; but he would give heed to me.
There an upright person could reason with him,
and I should be acquitted forever by my judge.

“If I go forward, he is not there;
or backward, I cannot perceive him;
on the left he hides, and I cannot behold him;
I turn to the right, but I cannot see him.
But he knows the way that I take;
when he has tested me, I shall come out like gold.
My foot has held fast to his steps;
I have kept his way and have not turned aside.
I have not departed from the commandment of his lips;
I have treasured in my bosom the words of his mouth.”

Canticle: Song of Zechariah
Luke 1:68-79

Blessed are you, Lord, the God of Israel; *
you have come to your people and set them free.
You have raised up for us a mighty savior, *
born of the house of your servant David.
Through your holy prophets you promised of old
to save us from our enemies, *
from the hands of all who hate us.
To show mercy to our forebears, *
and to remember your holy covenant.
This was the oath you swore to our father Abraham, *
to set us free from the hands of our enemies,
Free to worship you without fear, *
holy and righteous before you
all the days of our life.
And you, child, shall be called the prophet of the Most High, *
for you will go before the Lord to prepare the way,
To give God’s people knowledge of salvation *
by the forgiveness of their sins.
In the tender compassion of our God *
the dawn from on high shall break upon us,
To shine on those who dwell in darkness and the shadow of death, *
and to guide our feet into the way of peace.

Glory to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit: *
as it was in the beginning, is now, and will be for ever. Amen.

John 1:43-51 (NRSV)

The next day Jesus decided to go to Galilee. He found Philip and said to him, “Follow me.” Now Philip was from Bethsaida, the city of Andrew and Peter. Philip found Nathanael and said to him, “We have found him about whom Moses in the law and also the prophets wrote, Jesus son of Joseph from Nazareth.” Nathanael said to him, “Can anything good come out of Nazareth?” Philip said to him, “Come and see.” When Jesus saw Nathanael coming toward him, he said of him, “Here is truly an Israelite in whom there is no deceit!” Nathanael asked him, “Where did you get to know me?” Jesus answered, “I saw you under the fig tree before Philip called you.” Nathanael replied, “Rabbi, you are the Son of God! You are the King of Israel!” Jesus answered, “Do you believe because I told you that I saw you under the fig tree? You will see greater things than these.” And he said to him, “Very truly, I tell you, you will see heaven opened and the angels of God ascending and descending upon the Son of Man.”

Canticle: We Praise You, O God
Te Deum laudamus

We praise you, O God,
we acclaim you as Lord;
All creation worships you,
the Father everlasting.
To you all angels, all the powers of heaven,
the cherubim and seraphim, sing in endless praise:
Holy, holy, holy Lord, God of power and might,
heaven and earth are full of your glory.
The glorious company of apostles praise you.
The noble fellowship of prophets praise you.
The white-robed army of martyrs praise you.
Throughout the world the holy Church acclaims you:
Father, of majesty unbounded,
your true and only Son, worthy of all worship,
and the Holy Spirit, advocate and guide.
You, Christ, are the king of glory,
the eternal Son of the Father.
When you took our flesh to set us free
you humbly chose the Virgin’s womb.
You overcame the sting of death
and opened the kingdom of heaven to all believers.
You are seated at God’s right hand in glory.
We believe that you will come to be our judge.
Come then, Lord, and help your people,
bought with the price of your own blood,
and bring us with your saints
to glory everlasting.

THE APOSTLES’ CREED

I believe in God, the Father almighty,
creator of heaven and earth.
I believe in Jesus Christ, God’s only son, our Lord,
who was conceived by the Holy Spirit,
born of the Virgin Mary,
suffered under Pontius Pilate,
was crucified, died, and was buried;
he descended to the dead.
On the third day he rose again;
he ascended into heaven,
he is seated at the right hand of the Father,
and he will come again to judge the living and the dead.
I believe in the Holy Spirit,
the holy catholic Church,
the communion of saints,
the forgiveness of sins,
the resurrection of the body,
and the life everlasting. Amen.

THE PRAYERS

The Lord be with you.
And also with you.
Let us pray.

Our Father in heaven,
hallowed be your Name,
your kingdom come,
your will be done,
on earth as in heaven.
Give us today our daily bread.
Forgive us our sins
as we forgive those who sin against us.
Save us from the time of trial,
and deliver us from evil.
For the kingdom, the power, and the glory are yours,
now and for ever. Amen.

V.  Show us your mercy, O Lord;
R.  And grant us your salvation.
V.  Clothe your ministers with righteousness;
R.  Let your people sing with joy.
V.  Give peace, O Lord, in all the world;
R.  For only in you can we live in safety.
V.  Lord, keep this nation under your care;
R.  And guide us in the way of justice and truth.
V.  Let your way be known upon earth;
R.  Your saving health among all nations.
V.  Let not the needy, O Lord, be forgotten;
R.  Nor the hope of the poor be taken away.
V.  Create in us clean hearts, O God;
R.  And sustain us with your Holy Spirit.

Philip and James are commemorated together because we don’t know anything about them except what’s in the New Testament, and even that is subject to confusion and scholarly disputes. It is possible that James the Less was the author of the Epistle of James, or at least of the original source material for it; Philip may have been the companion of Paul mentioned in some letters. In any event these two were numbered among the Apostles. (Concordia Koinonia)

Philip and James are commemorated together because we don’t know anything about them except what’s in the New Testament, and even that is subject to confusion and scholarly dispute. It is possible that James the Less was the author of the Epistle of James, or at least of the original source material; Philip may have been the companion of Paul mentioned in some letters. In any event these two were numbered among the Apostles. (Concordia Koinonia)

Collect of the Day: Saint Philip and Saint James, Apostles

Almighty God, who gave to your apostles Philip and James grace and strength to bear witness to the truth: Grant that we, being mindful of their victory of faith, may glorify in life and death the Name of our Lord Jesus Christ; who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, now and for ever. Amen.

Collect for the Renewal of Life

O God, the King eternal, whose light divides the day from the night and turns the shadow of death into the morning: Drive far from us all wrong desires, incline our heart to keep your law, and guide our feet into the way of peace; that, having done your will with cheerfulness during the day, we may, when night comes, rejoice to give you thanks; through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.

Monday Morning Prayer List: Most Recent

Kevin’s father David, lung disease
Mary Kelsey, departed
Danny’s father Alfred, departed
AJF & Little Franny
Dena, double mastectomy in mid-April
Fr. Jack Haney, heart issues, brain shunt postponed
Jon, multiple health issues
Carolyn
Colleen, multiple health issues
Children of Flint, Michigan & Newark, New Jersey exposed to lead in water
Brad & Jerry, discernment
Tim, bone cancer, and Sara
Michelle, tumor

Please add your own intercessions, supplications and thanksgivings here.

For the Mission of the Church

Everliving God, whose will it is that all should come to you through your Son Jesus Christ: Inspire our witness to him, that all may know the power of his forgiveness and the hope of his resurrection; who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, now and for ever. Amen.

A Prayer of St. Chrysostom

Almighty God, you have given us grace at this time with one accord to make our common supplications to you; and you have promised through your well-beloved Son that when two or three are gathered together in his Name you will be in the midst of them: Fulfil now, O Lord, our desires and petitions as may be best for us; granting us in this world knowledge of your truth, and in the age to come life everlasting. Amen.

Let us bless the Lord. Alleluia, alleluia.
Thanks be to God. Alleluia, alleluia.

Glory to God whose power, working in us, can do infinitely more than we can ask or imagine; Glory to him from generation to generation in the Church, and in Christ Jesus for ever and ever. Amen. Ephesians 3:20-21++

VIDEO: Easter (Five Mystical Songs, Ralph Vaughan Williams; George Herbert) – Malcolm J. Merriweather, baritone, St. Paul’s Cathedral, Buffalo, New York, 2010

2 thoughts on “Morning Prayer 5.2.16, St. Philip & St. James, Apostles

  1. Josh, the images on the new splash page are beautiful! Is there any way you can caption them? I’d love to know more about them, even if it’s just what/where some of them are.

    Thanks, and keep up the good work!

    Liked by 1 person

    • hirayuki, you’re the second person to ask me that in as many days! I’d love to caption them – we do when we post a link on our Facbeook page – but I haven’t figured out how to do that yet. I’d like to get rid of “Continue reading” at the bottom (which I know can be done) and put the caption there. Our intention is to be sure that every service starts with beauty. Today we’re looking at Cambridge University’s George A. Selwyn College, Chapel and “Old Court,” though it is one of the newer colleges at Cambridge. Selwyn was the first Bishop of New Zealand and built a firm foundation for the Church there; he carved three dioceses out of it and made it a province of the Anglican Communion. Ministered to both sides in the Maori War and tried to get the Brits to treat them better. It’s said that Maoris still visit his tomb in Lincoln Cathedral in reverence for the man.

      Thanks for praying with us!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

