Evening Prayer 2.27.16, George Herbert, Priest & Poet, 1633

They came to Jesus and saw the demoniac sitting there, clothed and in his right mind, the very man who had had the legion; and they were afraid.

Robert White, 1674: George Herbert. Most people have spoken his words many times without knowing it; he compiled a book of foreign aphorisms and English equivalents, many of which have passed into general use: living well, he observed, is the best revenge.

Robert White, 1674: George Herbert. Most people have spoken his words many times without knowing it; he compiled a book of foreign aphorisms and English equivalents, many of which have passed into general use: living well, he observed, is the best revenge.

I will arise and go to my father, and I will say to him, “Father, I have sinned against heaven and before you; I am no longer worthy to be called your son.” Luke 15:18-19

GENERAL CONFESSION

God of all mercy,
we confess that we have sinned against you,
opposing your will in our lives.
We have denied your goodness in each other,
in ourselves, and in the world you have created.
We repent of the evil that enslaves us,
the evil we have done,
and the evil done on our behalf.
Forgive, restore, and strengthen us
through our Savior Jesus Christ,
that we may abide in your love
and serve only your will. Amen.

Almighty God have mercy on us, forgive us all our sins through the grace of Jesus Christ, strengthen us in all goodness, and by the power of the Holy Spirit keep us in eternal life. Amen.

INVITATORY AND PSALTER

O God, be not far from us.
Come quickly to help us, O God.

Glory to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit:
as it was in the beginning, is now, and will be for ever. Amen.

Hymn: Light of the World
Phos hilaron

Light of the world in grace and beauty,
Mirror of God’s eternal face,
Transparent flame of love’s free duty,
You bring salvation to our race.
Now, as we see the lights of evening,
We raise our voice in hymns of praise;
Worthy are you of endless blessing,
Sun of our night, lamp of our days.

Psalm 23

1  The LORD is my shepherd; *
I shall not be in want.
2  You make me lie down in green pastures *
and lead me beside still waters.
3  You revive my soul *
and guide me along right pathways for your Name’s sake.
4  Though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I shall fear no evil; *
for you are with me;
your rod and your staff, they comfort me.
5  You spread a table before me in the presence of those who trouble me; *
you have anointed my head with oil,
and my cup is running over.
6  Surely your goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life, *
and I will dwell in the house of the LORD for ever.

Psalm 27

1  The LORD is my light and my salvation;
whom then shall I fear? *
the LORD is the strength of my life;
of whom then shall I be afraid?
2  When evildoers came upon me to eat up my flesh, *
it was they, my foes and my adversaries, who stumbled and fell.
3  Though an army should encamp against me, *
yet my heart shall not be afraid;
4  And though war should rise up against me, *
yet will I put my trust in the LORD.
5  One thing have I asked of the LORD;
one thing I seek; *
that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life;
6  To behold the fair beauty of the LORD *
and to seek God in the temple.
7  For on the day of trouble the LORD shall shelter me in safety; *
the LORD shall hide me in the secrecy of the holy place
and set me high upon a rock.
8  Even now the LORD lifts up my head *
above my enemies round about me.
9  Therefore I will offer in the holy place an oblation
with sounds of great gladness; *
I will sing and make music to the LORD.
10  Hearken to my voice, O LORD, when I call; *
have mercy on me and answer me.
11  You speak in my heart and say, “Seek my face.” *
Your face, LORD, will I seek.
12  Hide not your face from me, *
nor turn away your servant in displeasure.
13  You have been my helper;
cast me not away; *
do not forsake me, O God of my salvation.
14  Though my father and my mother forsake me, *
the LORD will sustain me.
15  Show me your way, O LORD; *
lead me on a level path, because of my enemies.
16  Deliver me not into the hand of my adversaries, *
for false witnesses have risen up against me,
and also those who speak malice.
17  What if I had not believed
that I should see the goodness of the LORD *
in the land of the living!
18  O tarry and await the LORD’s pleasure;
be strong, and the LORD shall comfort your heart; *
wait patiently for the LORD.

Glory to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit: *
as it was in the beginning, is now, and will be for ever. Amen.

Statue of Herbert at Salisbury Cathedral, just a few miles down the road from where he lived, wrote and died. He used to worship at the cathedral twice a week, and afterward made music with the musicians. (Wikipedia)

Statue of Herbert at Salisbury Cathedral, just a few miles down the road from where he lived, wrote and died. He used to worship at the cathedral twice a week, and afterward made music with the musicians. (Wikipedia)

THE LESSON
Mark 5:1-20 (NRSV)

They came to the other side of the sea, to the country of the Gerasenes. And when Jesus had stepped out of the boat, immediately a man out of the tombs with an unclean spirit met him. He lived among the tombs; and no one could restrain him any more, even with a chain; for he had often been restrained with shackles and chains, but the chains he wrenched apart, and the shackles he broke in pieces; and no one had the strength to subdue him. Night and day among the tombs and on the mountains he was always howling and bruising himself with stones. When he saw Jesus from a distance, he ran and bowed down before him; and he shouted at the top of his voice, “What have you to do with me, Jesus, Son of the Most High God? I adjure you by God, do not torment me.” For he had said to him, “Come out of the man, you unclean spirit!” Then Jesus asked him, “What is your name?” He replied, “My name is Legion; for we are many.” He begged him earnestly not to send them out of the country. Now there on the hillside a great herd of swine was feeding; and the unclean spirits begged him, “Send us into the swine; let us enter them.” So he gave them permission. And the unclean spirits came out and entered the swine; and the herd, numbering about two thousand, rushed down the steep bank into the sea, and were drowned in the sea.

The swineherds ran off and told it in the city and in the country. Then people came to see what it was that had happened. They came to Jesus and saw the demoniac sitting there, clothed and in his right mind, the very man who had had the legion; and they were afraid. Those who had seen what had happened to the demoniac and to the swine reported it. Then they began to beg Jesus to leave their neighborhood. As he was getting into the boat, the man who had been possessed by demons begged him that he might be with him. But Jesus refused, and said to him, “Go home to your friends, and tell them how much the Lord has done for you, and what mercy he has shown you.” And he went away and began to proclaim in the Decapolis how much Jesus had done for him; and everyone was amazed.

Canticle: The Song of Mary
Luke 1:46-55

My soul proclaims the greatness of the Lord,
my spirit rejoices in you, O God my Savior, *
for you have looked with favor on your lowly servant.
From this day all generations will call me blessed: *
you, the Almighty, have done great things for me,
and holy is your Name.
You have mercy on those who fear you *
from generation to generation.
You have shown strength with your arm, *
and scattered the proud in their conceit,
Casting down the mighty from their thrones, *
and lifting up the lowly.
You have filled the hungry with good things, *
and sent the rich away empty.
You have come to the help of your servant Israel, *
for you have remembered your promise of mercy,
The promise made to our forebears, *
to Abraham and his children for ever.

Glory to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit: *
as it was in the beginning, is now, and will be for ever. Amen.

Nicholas Ferrar and George Herbert windows at Herbert's parish church, St. Andrew's, Bemerton in Wiltshire; it's entirely appropriate these two be shown together. They were best friends at Cambridge, obtained livings two miles apart (with Ferrar at Little Gidding), and when Herbert was near death, he sent his poetry to Farrar to decide whether it should be published. With a preface by Ferrar, "The Temple" went through eight printings and established Herbert as one of the masters of English poetry. (Wikipedia)

Nicholas Ferrar and George Herbert windows at Herbert’s parish church, St. Andrew’s, Bemerton in Wiltshire; it’s entirely appropriate these two be shown together. They were best friends at Cambridge, obtained livings two miles apart (with Ferrar at Little Gidding), and when Herbert was near death, he sent his poetry to Farrar to decide whether it should be published or burned in the fire. With a preface by Ferrar, “The Temple” went through eight printings and established Herbert as one of the masters of English poetry. (Wikipedia)

THE APOSTLES’ CREED

I believe in God, the Father almighty,
creator of heaven and earth.
I believe in Jesus Christ, his only son, our Lord.
He was conceived by the power of the Holy Spirit
and born of the Virgin Mary.
He suffered under Pontius Pilate,
was crucified, died, and was buried.
He descended to the dead.
On the third day he rose again.
He ascended into heaven,
and is seated at the right hand of the Father.
He will come again to judge the living and the dead.
I believe in the Holy Spirit,
the holy catholic Church,
the communion of saints,
the forgiveness of sins,
the resurrection of the body,
and the life everlasting. Amen.

THE PRAYERS

Our Father in heaven, hallowed be your Name,
your kingdom come, your will be done, on earth as in heaven.
Give us today our daily bread.
Forgive us our sins, as we forgive those who sin against us.
Save us from the time of trial, and deliver us from evil.
For the kingdom, the power, and the glory are yours, now and for ever. Amen.

That this evening may be holy, good, and peaceful,
We entreat you, O Lord.
That your holy angels may lead us in paths of peace and goodwill,
We entreat you, O Lord.
That we may be pardoned and forgiven for our sins and offenses,
We entreat you, O Lord.
That there may be peace to your Church and to the whole world,
We entreat you, O Lord.
That we may depart this life in your faith and fear,
and not be condemned before the great judgment seat of Christ,
We entreat you, O Lord.
That we may be bound together by your Holy Spirit
in the communion of all your saints,
entrusting one another and all our life to Christ,
We entreat you, O Lord.

“The Altar,” one of Herbert's many pattern poems.

“The Altar,” one of Herbert’s many pattern poems.

Collect of the Day: George Herbert, Priest, 1633

Our God and King, you called your servant George Herbert from the pursuit of worldly honors to be a pastor of souls, a poet, and a priest in your temple: Give us grace, we pray, joyfully to perform the tasks you give us to do, knowing that nothing is menial or common that is done for your sake; through Jesus Christ our Lord, who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, for ever and ever. Amen.

Collect for Saturday in the Second Week of Lent

Grant, most merciful Lord, to your faithful people pardon and peace, that they may be cleansed from all their sins, and serve you with a quiet mind; through Jesus Christ our Lord, who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, for ever and ever. Amen.

For Peace

Almighty God, kindle, we pray, in every heart the true love of peace, and guide with your wisdom those who take counsel for the nations of the earth, that in tranquillity your dominion may increase until the earth is filled with the knowledge of your love; through Jesus Christ our Lord, who lives and reigns with you, in the unity of the Holy Spirit, one God, now and for ever. Amen.

A Collect for Saturdays

O God, the source of eternal light: Shed forth your unending day upon us who watch for you, that our lips may praise you, our lives may bless you, and our worship on the morrow give you glory; through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.

Saturday Evening Prayer List: For the Church

For All Deacons
Letha
Lani
Diana
Tim
Bob
Deniray

For Mission

O God, you have made of one blood all the peoples of the earth, and sent your blessed Son to preach peace to those who are far off and to those who are near: Grant that people everywhere may seek after you and find you; bring the nations into your fold; pour out your Spirit upon all flesh, and hasten the coming of your kingdom; through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.

Let us bless the Lord.
Thanks be to God.

May the God of hope fill us with all joy and peace in believing through the power of the Holy Spirit. Amen. Romans 15:13++

VIDEO: King of glory, King of peace (#382, General Seminary, David Charles Walker; George Herbert) – Notre Dame Women’s Liturgical Choir, 2014

About Josh Thomas

This site offers daily Morning and Evening Prayer in the Anglican tradition according to the Book of Common Prayer of The Episcopal Church, and other sources. Each service includes psalms, Bible lessons, and prayers. The Daily Office Network consists of three sites: two in English (one timed for Asia-Pacific and the other for North & South America) and one in Spanish (Oficio Diario). We serve all the nations of the world. We're glad you came and we invite your comments. May God bless you richly in our Savior Jesus Christ.
This entry was posted in Anglican, Christianity, Deacons, England, Fast, Jesus, Joy, Lent, Mission, music video, Mysticism, Parish Life, Peace, prayer, Repentance, UK, Wales. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

